Preservatives

Booking Through Thursday

I’m still relatively new to this meme so I’m not sure if this has been asked yet, but I’m curious how many of us write notes in our books. Are you a Footprint Leaver or a Preservationist?

It acutally freaks me out to think about writing in a book.  I never do, and until law school, I never did even in textbooks.  I made the exception in law school because when you read a court opinion, you might as well be reading in Middle English.  You have to learn how to understand it, and at least in the part of the country where I went to school, they teach you to use a system of color-coded highlighters to help.  So I still have law books with rainbow-colored pages.

My dad takes notes in books all the time, but then again, he has mechanically perfect handwriting and can draw a straight line without a ruler.

5 thoughts on “Preservatives

Add yours

  1. I never took notes in textbooks until law school either – and I still cringed the first time I wrote in each book. I got used to it after awhile, though. I still would never write in any other book though!

  2. I just read “As I Lay Dying”. And I bought it used. The notes in it were quite helpful. So, know that your notes may help someone else. Or make them angry. But I am pretty easy.

  3. I used to write all over my college texts. I went to public schools before college and writing in books was forbidden (that’s what those brown paper bag covers we used to make for the books were for, after all). I tend not to write in my books nowadays, but if I must, I always use pencil that I can go back and erase later. I love the idea of foot printing, just the same–I just prefer not to find it in books I plan to read unless it happens to mean something special to me.

  4. oh, gosh no! the only books i’ve ever written in were college books…my personal collection at home i treat with kid gloves….

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑