I Copied the Routines of Famous Writers and It Sucked

Writers are obsessed with routines. With the exception of religion and perhaps grooming, no pursuit is as closely joined to the idea of the Holy Routine as much as writing is. It’s why writers’ routines have become an entire genre of web content. Frustrated scribes can easily find hundreds of lists online detailing the various schedules of their successful and productive counterparts, all laid out neatly like an instruction manual. The subtext of these compilations is always the same: You need a routine, so why not try one of these?

Courtesy of Vice.

2018 Writing Goals

So here’s how I did on my writing goals for 2017:

  • Publish Daughters of Shadow and Blood – Book III
  • Audiobooks for Yasamin and Elena
  • Edit YA alternate history fantasy novel
  • Write at least two novellas in a new Southern Gothic series
  • New Serbian Bureau of Strange Occurrences short stories (or maybe a novella)
  • New Yasamin short stories
  • More linked stories in the vein of The Big Bad and The Big Bad II.

Overall not great, but I did manage to get one novella written in my new series Dreadful Penny, a ’70s noir/urban fantasy/Southern Gothic mashup. I’m really excited about that one. Look for it in early March! As for the rest, hope springs eternal.

I’d also like to blog more. So if anyone had any ideas about what they’d like to see me ramble about, let me know! Better get to work.

More Than 10 Years

Daughters of Shadow and Blood

More than 10 years of writing, rewriting, Wikipedia, libraries, reading, revision, proofreading, first drafts, second draft, third drafts, red pens, ink cartridges, paper, Word, Scrivener, track changes, critique groups, conversations with friends, late nights, large coffees, writing conferences, conventions, query letters, synopses, rejections, Facebook, twitter, blog posts, and now it’s done.

How I Wrote Two Full-Length Novels in 18 Months

If you’ve dreamed of writing your own novel(s) but haven’t yet written anything besides the first two chapters—and trust me, I’ve been there—you’re probably wondering how I got it all done, in addition to my everyday workload and all of the other stuff that goes into a life.

Aside from finding consistent time to write every day (even just a few hundred words), a lot of the advice in this article probably wouldn’t work for me, but that doesn’t mean it wouldn’t work for someone else. Courtesy of Lifehacker.

2017 Writing Goals

2017 Planner

As we look forward to another year I thought I’d share some of my writing goals for 2017:

  • Publish Daughters of Shadow and Blood – Book III (duh)
  • Audiobooks for Yasamin and Elena
  • Edit YA alternate history fantasy novel
  • Write at least two novellas in a new Southern Gothic series
  • New Serbian Bureau of Strange Occurrences short stories (or maybe a novella)
  • New Yasamin short stories
  • More linked stories in the vein (heh) of The Big Bad and The Big Bad II.

So, what does everyone think? What are your writing goals for 2017?

The Single Most Important Thing You Can Do To Make Your Writing More Awesome

There’s no magic bullet for being a decent writer, or making people bond with your characters or fall in love with your story. Writing is a million different skills and challenges, and each story is different. But the more I struggle to make this work, the more I think there’s one key thing that makes writing more excellent: Finding your own blind spots as an author, and trying to see into them.

Courtesy of io9.