Music Thursday: Jennifer Lawrence “The Hanging Tree”

Because Monday is already taken. This column will feature music I listen to when I write, or maybe sometimes music I just like (and therefore think everyone else should, too).

So I may have been a little obsessed with this song lately, and I haven’t even seen the movie.

The thing that fascinates me about this song is that the lyrics were written by Suzanne Collins, and the music was written for the movie, but it sounds exactly like an authentic Appalachian folk song. The first time I heard it, I thought it was.

The lyrics are so chilling and the song itself so bleak, it’s actually the perfect music for my Southern Gothic stories.

One thought on “Music Thursday: Jennifer Lawrence “The Hanging Tree”

  1. estemarks April 3, 2015 / 1:09 pm

    I love the song. I’m actually surprised it go so much play/attention because whenever the lyrics came up when I was reading Mockingjay I got so emotional.

Leave a Reply

