Music Thursday: Taliesin Orchestra “Boadicea”

Because Monday is already taken. This column will feature music I listen to when I write, or maybe sometimes music I just like (and therefore think everyone else should, too).

I love the mystery that this song evokes. When I hear it, I see ancient ruins, misty mountains, primeval forests.

The history of this one gets a little convoluted. This is a cover by Taliesin Orchestra of a song originally by Enya. Taliesin Orchestra takes its name from the medieval Welsh poet Taliesin. Enya originally wrote this song for the 1987 BBC documentary The Celts, for the segment about Boadicea, legendary queen of the Iceni tribe who led an uprising against the Romans in A.D. 60.

Leave a Reply

