Music Thursday: Eileen Ivers “Pachelbel’s Frolics”

Because Monday is already taken. This column will feature music I listen to when I write, or maybe sometimes music I just like (and therefore think everyone else should, too).

Pachelbel’s Canon in D tends to polarize classical music listeners. You either love it or you hate it. I happen to love it, and I really enjoy when musicians play around with it. This version starts out as a traditional arrangement, but about halfway through, it transforms into an Irish reel. All I can say is wait for it.

The fiddle player is American Eileen Ivers, born in New York City to Irish parents and notable for her blue fiddle.

Leave a Reply

