Music Thursday: Vivald’s The Four Seasons “Winter”

Because Monday is already taken. This column will feature music I listen to when I write, or maybe sometimes music I just like (and therefore think everyone else should, too).

Though the season itself and I are rarely on speaking terms, “Winter” is my favorite concerto from Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons. It is absolutely perfect in the way it captures the season, from icicles on trees to flurries of snow blown in the wind to cozy fires and warm drinks. What Vivaldi does with music, I aspire to do with words. I even like the second movement:

And it’s always fun to watch the soloist shred the violin.

Leave a Reply

