Things I’m Giving Up for Lent

It’s Ash Wednesday, the beginning of the Lenten season leading up to Easter. I grew up in a Baptist household, and the idea of giving something up for Lent was never really emphasized, though I had Catholic and Episcopalian friends who did it. As I’ve grown older, I’ve noticed that it has become a more ecumenical practice, and I have a lot of friends, Catholic, Protestant, and otherwise, who give something up.

Because Lent is meant to be a time of reflection and preparation, one of the reasons that people give up things is to free themselves from distractions that would get in the way of becoming closer to God. It is with this goal in mind that I’ve decided to give up a few things this year:

  1. Trying to make people happy who are determined to be unhappy.
  2. Feeling bad about offending people who are looking for ways to be offended.
  3. Apologizing for not making the decisions other people think I’m supposed to make.

We’ll see if I can last until April 4. If so, I may go longer. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

