Attn: Old Navy. Talking Mannequins are Creepy.

Always.  There are no exceptions.  How the marketing execs at Old Navy missed that memo is completely beyond me.  Seriously.  There was a Twilight Zone episode.  It had Anne Francis in it and everything.

And to make matters worse, they put mannequins in the stores that look like the ones in the commercials.  Really?  How is that a good idea?  I won’t set foot in an Old Navy until they’re removed.  Shopping there is stressful enough without having to constantly look over my shoulder for fear a demonic talking mannequin is going to bludgeon me to death with its own disarticulated arm.  I just don’t need that right now.

9 thoughts on “Attn: Old Navy. Talking Mannequins are Creepy.

  1. justaddh2o March 18, 2009 / 7:28 am

    Perhaps it’s the budget cuts that they can’t afford real models…i thought the commercials were creepy too when I first saw it. I hope they don’t use clowns. Next thing you know a clown is grabbing you to the dungeons of the old navy dressing room

  2. wordsbybob March 18, 2009 / 8:06 am

    Haven’t you ever talked to one? Once when my wife was shopping, I bumped into one. I said, “Excuse me.” No response.
    At least I didn’t break his finger or arm.

  3. wolfshowl March 18, 2009 / 8:34 am

    Someone should’ve sent that memo to “Confessions of a Shopaholic” too.

    *shudder*

    Also, justaddho2o–Thanks for adding clowns to my pre-existing Old Navy mannequin nightmares. 😛

  4. TexasRed March 19, 2009 / 9:32 am

    Did you see the episode of “Doctor Who” when the mannequins were trying to destroy the world? They’re almost as creepy as stone angels.

  5. Reecie March 20, 2009 / 11:20 am

    lol…I love those commercials

  6. Sue March 20, 2009 / 12:55 pm

    The nude Black mannequin ad is horribly lame and perpetuates the very stereotypes Black women struggle to dispel. You know economic times are bad when Old Navy can’t even afford to hire humans for an insipid ads! Then again, no real Black women would have appeared in them. In fact, the entire campaign is ridiculous!

  7. Emmakun June 6, 2009 / 9:58 pm

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who’s terrified them. My friend works at Old Navy and is obsessed with them. I think she’ll be the first one to go.

Leave a Reply

