Best

Booking Through Thursday

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked?

I’d have to say One hundred years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez.  By some fluke, I had to read it three times in high school.  I think that García Márquez is a brilliant writer.  I loved his use of magical realism in the book.  To this day, I can still vividly, and even fondly, recall many of the scenes in the book, but it’s a very long book, and it requires a certain amount of fortitude to finish it.  For those who aren’t familiar, the book chronicles the rise and fall of the Buendía family and the fictional town of Macondo, Colombia.  I don’t think that I’m spoiling anything by saying that things do not end well for most of the characters.  By the end of the book, I found myself thinking, Why doesn’t everyone just hurry up and die? Why is it taking eighty more pages? So while I don’t deny the great signficance of the book, I won’t be reading it a fourth time.

9 thoughts on “Best

  1. Matt October 2, 2008 / 10:15 am

    Moby Dick and The Alchemist for me.

    I remember One Hundred Years of Solitude, which wasn’t too bad for me. The story almost repeats itself every four chapters and I at one point got mixed up with which Buendía he was referring to. But I guess the writing was good.

  2. Sally October 2, 2008 / 11:03 am

    That was one of the three titles I picked. Come visit.

  3. rebecca October 8, 2008 / 12:24 pm

    you know i bought that book more than ten years ago and still have not gotten around to read it? i read his “love in the time of cholera” which i loved and proceeded to buy “one hundred years.” but as usual, the ADD in me quickly found another book that sparked my interest and GGM took a respite in my bookshelf. i think it’s time for him to come out.

  4. Scobberlotcher October 23, 2008 / 10:50 am

    Yes, I agree with your choice, although it’s not on my list.

  5. annevdns October 30, 2008 / 1:50 am

    for me one of the best books ever written is – the of the affair by graham greene. the words are written with passion and you can’t help but be drawn in it. the book starts with the line – a story has no beginning or an end.

    who else can write a book with such memorable lines such as : “so this is a record of hate far more than of love”, “love doesn’t end just because we don’t see each other,” and “o God. you’ve done enough, you’ve robbed me of enough, i’m too tired and old to learn to love, leave me alone for ever.”

  6. mastadonzq October 30, 2008 / 3:33 pm

    I remember thinking that exact thing about why the charecters kept on living for so long

Leave a Reply

