The State of California is a Carcinogen

I haven’t posted anything in a while because I’ve been incredibly busy for an unemployed person.  Anyway, since I don’t want all (six) of you who regularly follow this blog to think I’ve abandoned it, I’ll post this little gem of a story.

When I was at my last place of employment we had one of those hideously boring mandatory meetings about our health insurance plan.  I hated these meetings, because, in addition to making me want to stab myself in the eyeball with my pen just to have something to do, they took away time I was supposed to be merrily billing our clients.  I always had to make up the time–that day–or I would get a nastygram from the senior partner.

Anyway, at this particular meeting, I was pondering the unanswered question of how Princess Leia could remember her mother if Padme died in childbirth when something the insurance rep said snapped me out of my reverie.  She was talking about supplemental insurance policies we could purchase, and she had just mentioned supplemental cancer insurance.  She explained that in order to be eligible for the supplemental cancer insurance policy, you have to have a risk factor for developing cancer.

“But that’s not a problem for anyone in this room,” she said, “because you all live in California.”

That’s right.  According to major insurance companies, the mere act of living in the State of California is a risk factor for developing cancer. Kind of takes the shine off, doesn’t it?

2 thoughts on “The State of California is a Carcinogen

  1. trish October 18, 2008 / 1:34 pm

    Makes me a lot less smug when I tell people where I live. Arkansas is looking a lot more appealing after reading your story…

  2. platondas November 26, 2008 / 12:39 pm

    Well given the signs that have to be posted in every company that employees more than 10 people it could just be a result of the dumb law.

Leave a Reply

