The Great American Novel

Booking Through Thursday

What, in your opinion, is the (mythical) Great American Novel? At least to date. A “classic,” or a current one–either would be fine. Mark Twain? J.D. Salinger? F. Scott Fitzgerald? Stephen King? Laura Ingalls Wilder?

It doesn’t have to be your favorite book, mind you. “Citizen Kane” may be the “best” film, and I concede its merits, but it’s not my favorite. You don’t have to love something to know that it’s good.

Now, I know that not all of you are American–but you can play, too! What I want from you is to know what you consider to the best novel of YOUR country. It might be someone the rest of us haven’t heard of and, frankly, I think we’d all like to get some new authors to read.

In fact, while we’re at it–I’m curious about the geographical make-up of this meme. So, while you’re leaving your link to your post, tell us where in the world you are! (For the record, I’m in New Jersey, USA.)

 I’m in Southern California, but my heart’s not here.

I grew up in the South.  My parents grew up in the South.  Their parents grew up in the South.  For me, the answer to this question would be To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  Thankfully, the South has changed since the 1930’s, but my grandparents and my parents remember things the way they’re depicted in the book.  And the issues that it adresses are still there, all this time later.  In my own lifetime, I’ve seen the damage poverty and racism can do.

But I know its doesn’t have to be that way, and for me, To Kill a Mockingbird has always been about hope that people can reach across those race and class boundaries. 

4 thoughts on “The Great American Novel

  1. Stephanie July 5, 2007 / 2:56 pm

    Yeah….To Kill a Mockingbird seems to be getting alot of response today. It was my answer, in a round about way, I guess. It will be forever and always my very favorite book!

  2. 3M July 5, 2007 / 6:05 pm

    My choice as well.

  3. ennavic July 6, 2007 / 3:10 am

    I think TKAM must win hands down if we added up the BTT numbers. I enjoy your BTT posts each week.

    Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

