Dessert First

Booking Through Thursday question:

  1. Do you cheat and peek ahead at the end of your books? Or do you resolutely read in sequence, as the author intended?
  2. And, if you don’t peek, do you ever feel tempted?

If I’m reading fiction, then no I don’t look. Mostly because I read a lot of thrillers and mystery novels, and that would spoil the fun wouldn’t it? The possibility of spoiling the ending for myself also keeps the temptation at bay, but I will say that I do get impatient and frustrated from time to time, especially when it’s a really good book and I don’t have a lot of time to devote to reading.

If it’s a nonfiction book, I will often read it out of order, especially if there’s a topic I’m particularly interested in. I’ll also often flip back and forth between parts I’ve made mental notes of, or I’ll start in the middle and read backwards to gain context. I know that’s not exactly peeking ahead to the end, but it does get odd looks sometimes.

One thought on “Dessert First

  1. Marianne June 14, 2007 / 11:06 am

    So far, I’m the only peeker. I feel so alone.

    You can read my reasoning here.

Leave a Reply

